Monday, December 29, 2008

Nitin Agarwal of the BSP won byelection

The Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Nitin Agarwal (son of Naresh Agarwal) won the Hardoi Assembly seat from the Samajwadi Party in Vidhan Sabha byelection in Uttar Pradesh.

He defeated his nearest Samajwadi rival Sukh Saagar Mishra ‘Madhur’ by a margin of 17,372 votes.

While the BSP candidate polled 65,533 votes, 48,161 votes were garnered by the Samajwadi Party nominee. With 5,737 votes, Mithilesh Singh Chauhan of the Congress came third. He lost his deposit.

The byelection in Hardoi was due to the resignation of the former Minister, Naresh Agarwal, who has joined the BSP in July this year. Mr. Agarwal had won the seat as a Samajwadi Party candidate in the 2007 U.P. Assembly elections.

He later left Samajwadi chief Mulayam Singh and joined the BSP.